Review TYGERS OF PAN TANG ‘Bloodlines’

Tygers Of Pan Tang belong to the forerunners of heavy metal. Releasing the ‘Wild Cat’ debut in 1980, the band had been part of the growing NWoBHM together with bands like Iron Maiden, Saxon and others. Tygers Of Pan Tang had their success and ‘The Cage’ even pushed them into the top 15 of the UK charts.

Line-up changes and more than one hiatus always put the brakes on the band’s development. Since 2001 though, Tygers Of Pan Tang gained speed again and regular releases followed. Four years after ‘Ritual’ the band unleash ‘Bloodlines’ and I can state, that it belongs to the great ones in the band’s discography. Robb Weir is the only remaining founding member of the band and the driving force too. Together with Jacopo Meille and Craig Ellis, the guitarist has also two guys next to him, forming the core of the current era of the band. With Francesco Marras and Huw Holding, the band also has two new members in the team, and it seems like this mix is working together perfectly.

‘Bloodlines’ entails ten new songs, and it all starts with ‘edge of the World’. Following a rather dramatic sound intro the song evolves to a pounding metal anthem that refers to the roots of the band. The more rocking roots find their way to the surface though songs like ‘In My Blood’ before blistering guitar sounds start off ‘Fire on the Horizon’. The lightning song is an energetic piece of music that showcases a band that is still hungry.

The thumping bassline introduces while ‘Taste of Love’ mirrors the soulful side of the band’s sound. ‘A New Heartbeat’, that is more than a metallic anthem on the album. In a way it seems like the band follows a new heartbeat that revitalizes band, sound and songs.

This album is created by veterans that use their experience and blend it with the passion for hard and heavy sounds. Tygers Of Pan Tang, that is honest and authentic music in the spirit of metal. Listening to this album means a lot of fun and delight. The tiger still roars.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Edge Of The World
  2. In My Blood
  3. Fire On The Horizon
  4. Light Of Hope
  5. Back For Good
  6. Taste Of Love
  7. Kiss The Sky
  8. Believe
  9. A New Heartbeat
  10. Making All The Rules

Label: Mighty Music

Genre: Heavy Metal

Release Date EU: May 5th, 2023




AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: