Review AIR RAID ‘Fatal Encounter’

One of the Gothenburg metal representatives are Air Raid. The band started 2009 and follow their passion for traditional metal.

The debut was unleashed in 2012 and is entitled ‘Night of the Axe’, followed by two additional longplayers. Six years after having released ‘Cross the Line’, Air Raid are back with a new record called ‘Fatal Encounter’. Nine songs and a running time of 37 minutes represent well-crafted heavy metal. Dokken, Hammerfall and Running Wild are bands that certainly inspired Air Raid while working on their newest offer.

‘Thunderblood’ is the stunning opener, and it is a powerful and Dokken-reminding riff, that kicks off the album. The track provides a great start into the album. The blistering ‘Lionheart’ is next, followed by the heavy pounding ‘In Solitude’.

Speed increases with the thundering ‘See the Light’ while the interlude ‘Sinfonia’ introduces ‘Edge of a Dream’. The latter song is another metal anthem which blends heaviness and catchiness. Slower paced and hard-hitting, that is ‘Let the Kingdom Come’ before the band shifts gears again. ‘One By One’ is a blasting metal track and the glorious ride through the beauty of metal ends with ‘Pegasus Fantasy’. The song carries a bit of a Running Wild-vibe and is the perfect closing chapter for an album like ‘Fatal Encounter’.

Air Raid offer with their newest blast from the north an album that honors the greatness of heavy metal in its most traditional way. This album is just fun to listen to and invites for headbanging, either during live shows or in your living room.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Thunderblood
  2. Lionheart
  3. In Solitude
  4. See The Light
  5. Sinfonia
  6. Edge Of A Dream
  7. Let The Kingdom Burn
  8. One By One
  9. Pegasus Fantasy

Label: High Roller Records

Genre: Heavy Metal

Release Date EU: February 24th, 2023



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: