Review MCC [MAGNA CARTA CARTEL] ‘The Dying Option’

Martin Persner was not only one of the Nameless Ghouls and therefore a part of the Swedish chart breakers Ghost. Persner was and is also the creative mind behind MCC [Magna Carta Cartel].

MCC started in 2008 with an EP called ‘Valiant Visions’. After the release of the debut album, Ghost came into the picture. Three band members, one of them Tobias Forge, started Ghost and two became nameless while one took the spotlight. After Persner left Ghost it was time to revive MCC. A first proof of work was the well-done EP ‘The Demon King’. In summer this year the long awaited next album ‘The Dying Option’ was released, which is now available on vinyl.

Like the EP, the full-length album convinces with brilliant melodies and hooks. Great musical arcs are stretched and it is an exciting musical journey to which MCC invites. Here is not the harsh riff in the foreground. Rather, it is the interplay of all instruments, including vocals, which evokes irresistible soundscapes. MCC are also not afraid to use keyboards which leads to a cinematic expression.

MCC have crafted a great album with ‘The Dying Option’. Qua musical expression and diversity this album does not need to hide behind Ghost and that is ultimately what it is all about. Unvarnished and without gimmicks, that’s what a band needs to be able to impress. In the case of MCC, this is now also the case on vinyl.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Arrows
  2. Silence
  3. Darling
  4. Sleepy Eye June
  5. Savantgarde
  6. Don’t Look Now
  7. Tamsa
  8. Valkyria
  9. Dusk
  10. The Dying Option

Label: Vernal Vow Records

Genre: Rock

Release Date EU: November 25th, 2022 (vinyl)




AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: