Review THEM ‘Fear City’

Them started as a King Diamond cover band, which also explains the band name. While the debut album ‘Sweet Hollow’ was still very much inspired by the sound of their idol, Them began to create their own style with the second album ‘Manor of the Se7en Gables’. Power metal elements gained in importance, while the typical falcett vocals moved more and more into the background.

After Them had finished their three album cycle with ‘Return to Hemmersmoor’ new ideas for a concept had to be developed. The band succeeded in this by letting the main character KK Fossor make a time jump to the New York of the 80s. There he is looking for a certain Peter Thompson, who is supposed to work as a TV preacher and is a descendant of the Witchhunter.

Them tell this story in their typical way. Melodic and with a cinematic approach, the guys put hard guitar riffs in the foreground with songs like ‘Flight oft he Concorde’ and ‘Death on the Downtown Metro’, which you couldn’t expect from the band this way. At the same time catchy songs like ‘Graffiti Park’ are represented on the record and while ‘Retro 54’ already has an almost pop-like melody line, which in the broadest sense even reminds of Ghost.

In addition, ‘The Crossing of Hellgate Bridge’ is a theatrical colossus, while at the end of the album the musical versatility of ‘Fear City ‘ is expressed once again. There is the raging ‘The Deconsecrated House of Sin’ equipped with a black metal-ish riff, followed by the finishing and rather solemn ‘In the 11th Hour’.

Them have made with ‘Fear City’ a very multifaceted record in which concept and music harmonize very well. Here and there you get the feeling that it becomes too much and yet the band always keeps the controls in their hands.

Rating: 7 out of 10.


  1. Excito
  2. Flight of the Concorde
  3. Welcome To Fear City
  4. Retro 54
  5. An Ear For the Action
  6. Graffiti Park
  7. 191st Street
  8. Home Stretch
  9. The Crossing of Hellgate Bridge
  10. Death on the Downtown Metro
  11. Stay Tuned…
  12. A Most Violent Year
  13. The Deconsecrated House of Sin
  14. In the 11th Hour

Label: Steamhammer

Genre: Power Metal

Release Date EU: October 28th, 2022




AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: