Review SONATA ARCTICA ‘Acoustic Adventures – Vol. 2’

Actually, the Finns of Sonata Arctica stand for melodic metal that they regularly package on records since 1999. For this reason it was rather unusual that the band decided to go on tour with an acoustic set in 2016. The background was to challenge themselves and to regroup. At first, the band played only at selected venues in Finland before touring all of Europe with the same setup three years later.

The band was also excited by the unexpected success and decided to provide the fans with a high quality version of the songs for home use, as initially there were only more bad than right YouTube videos circulating.

The result was ‘Acoustic Adventures’, a first album with newly arranged acoustic songs from the band’s large portfolio. This album was euphorically received by fans of the band and thus the way was paved for a second record. ‘Acoustic Adventures Vol. 2’ hits the stores these days and it proves that acoustic music doesn’t have to be automatically calm and relaxing. Even unplugged can develop some power and Sonata Arctica show this with songs like ‘Half A Marathon Man’. Then there is the beautiful version of ‘San Sebastian’, also a song that shows that unplugged can do more than just some romantically singing acoustic guitars. Needless to say, the great ‘I Have a Right’ is not to be missed and opens this beautiful album. Actually it doesn’t matter which song you listen to, because all of them are a fine version of the plugged-in classics. This also includes the slightly folky ‘Black Sheep’.

Sonata Arctica continue their unplugged journey and have successfully mastered another milestone with this album. Probably no one had expected the success of this entire acoustic series. Nothing here was tackled with calculus and commercial interest. Yet everything sounds professional and passionate. This can be noticed, because the band shows itself playful, what fans honor very much.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. I Have A Right
  2. Black Sheep
  3. Half A Marathon Man
  4. Broken
  5. Letter To Dana
  6. FullMoon
  7. Shamandalie
  8. San Sebastian
  9. Gravenimage
  10. Flag In The Ground
  11. My Land
  12. Victoria‘s Secret

Label: Atomic Fire Records

Genre: Acoustic

Release Date EU: September 30th, 2022




AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: