Review KINGS X ‘Three Sides of One’

When I was younger, a band called Kings X released an album called ‘Gretchen Goes to Nebraska’. Already the title of this album was unusual and the positive reviews in various metal magazines made me even more interested. The trio with their funky progressive metal brought a new aspect to the game.

‘Faith Hope Love’ was the follow-up and brought Kings X even more attention from fans and media. The latest Kings X album was ‘XV’ which was released in 2008 and it took 14 years until the trio could and did record a new album. Now the time has come and the wait is over.

In the beginning of September ‘Three Sides of One’ will be released and what Doug Pinnick, Jerry Gaskill and Ty Tabor deliver is once again substantial. This has among other things to do with the fact that the three of them are not only gifted musicians. The brilliance of Kings X is also built on a mutual understanding after all the decades of collaboration, and working on a new album after such a long time was like igniting an extra level of euphoria. Even though the previous album was released a long time ago, the chemistry was right off the bat and each of the three wanted to come up with something special on ”Three Sides of One”. Kings X have undoubtedly achieved this goal.

Musically Kings X cover a wide spectrum. Take the groovy ‘Give it Up’ as an example, which inspires right away. Provided with a slight blues impact, the song is just great and it is the screams that express all the energy of the album.

The whole range of Kings X is shown in the following track. ‘All God’s Children’ is a peaceful track with a certain amount of melancholy. The semi-acoustic ‘Take the Time’ makes you dream, before the trio follow-up with ‘Festival’, a snappy piece. With ‘Holidays’ a true vacation mood arises, accompanying music for a sunset somewhere in nature.

By the way, the album opens with ‘Let it Rain’. The song is an ideal start for ‘Three Sides of One’ because it represents the typical Kings X sound and contains good hooks at the same time.

Kings X deliver with ‘Three Sides of One’ the expected fine album. Fans had to wait a long time for this disc and are now rewarded for their patience. The trio seamlessly picks up where they left off with their previous longplayer and the album shows the musical versatility of the prog rock veterans.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Let It Rain
  2. Flood Pt. 1
  3. Nothing But The Truth
  4. Give It Up
  5. All God’s Children
  6. Take The Time
  7. Festival
  8. Swipe Up
  9. Holidays
  10. Watcher
  11. She Called Me Home
  12. Every Everywhere

Label: Inside Out Music

Genre: Progressive Rock

Release Date EU: September 2nd, 2022




AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: