Review BORIS ‘Heavy Rocks (2022)’

Boris started in 1992 in Tokyo Japan as a quartet and continued as a trio after Nagata left the outfit in 1996. Named after the Melvins song ‘Boris, the band started a wild journey through the spheres of heavy metal. If you are looking for bands that doesn’t fit any predictable standardized boxes, Boris should be on your list.

‘Heavy Rocks (2022)’ manifests the unpredictable approach of the band, not only when it comes to their music. The band actually released an album called Heavy Rocks’ back in 2002 and ‘Heavy Rocks II’ in 2011. Now it is time for the 2022 version of ‘Heavy Rocks’, an album that includes ten tracks.

The new album of the ‘Heavy Rocks’ series is as demanding as expected and still features an underlying catchiness which comes to shine with songs like ‘My Name is Blank’. The width of sounds becomes apparent when listening to the following song ‘Blah Blah Blah’. Wild and experimental sound unite to a collage that is far away from mainstream.

‘Question 1’ combines noise, d-beats and spacy vibe to an unusual collage while ‘Chained’ comes as a real riff attack.

‘Heavy Rocks’ isn’t an easy-listening album. This record is demanding, wild and raw. Far away from the worn-out paths, Boris found a niche for heavy and experimental music that surely find a lot of friends and at the same time might be too furious and distracting for the many. For me it is a bit too much of too many influences, which done by purpose. Check it out and challenge yourself with ‘Heavy Rocks’ being the soundtrack for it.

Rating: 7 out of 10.


  1. She is burning
  2. Cramper
  3. My name is blank
  4. Blah Blah Blah
  5. Question 1
  6. Nosferatou
  7. Ruins
  8. Ghostly imagination
  9. Chained
  10. (not) Last song

Label: Relapse Records

Genre: Various

Release Date EU: August 12th, 2022




AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: