Review SUNSTORM ‘Brothers in Arms’

Ronnie Romero is certainly one of the busiest singers these days. He was a part of the recent Michael Schenker Group album, released a solo record and not to forget Lords Of Black, the band that was both a start and a springboard for Romero.

In addition to all these commitments and obligations Romero has with Sunstorm another project at the starting line which released with ‘Afterline’ a debut album in 2021. In August this year, the successor will hit the record stores and what started on ‘Afterline’ finds its continuation on ‘Brothers in Arms’.

Under the guidance of Alessandro Del Vecchio eleven new songs have been created which are situated more in rock than in metal. With a lot of feeling for good melodies a very well done AOR album has been created, which puts the voice of Romero in the spotlight. The quintet makes it very easy for the listener to connect with the songs and even the first time you listen to the album you can hum along to the tracks.

Unfortunately, this also has a downside. Overall, a certain saturation has happened and too much of good things is also not always advantageous. Without a doubt, ‘Brothers in Arms’ is well produced, has a powerful sound and yet comes across as if you’ve heard the album many times before. This is because Sunstorm doesn’t bring very much new to the table. One walks on paths that are well known and offer a sense of certainty. The risk on this album is minimized and that is exactly what is missing. A few more edges, something more unexpected and a shovel more originality would have served the album well. So it only remains to say that ‘Brothers in Arms’ is a well-made record that relies too much on the ‘Romero factor’ and thus has too little own charisma.

Rating: 7 out of 10.


  1. Brothers In Arms
  2. Games We Play
  3. I’ll Keep Holding On
  4. I Will Remember
  5. No Turning Back
  6. Back My Dreams
  7. Taste Of Heaven
  8. Lost In the Shadows of Love
  9. Hold The Night
  10. Miracle
  11. Living Out of Fear

Label: Frontiers Music

Genre: AOR

Release Date EU: August 12th, 2022


AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: