Review SINNER ‘Brotherhood’

Mat Sinner has been integrated into many bands and projects for decades. Mostly he is even the driving force, fueled by an unbridled passion for rock and metal.

It all started in the ’80s when Sinner debuted with ‘Wild’n’Evil’. Slowly and steadily Mat Sinner and his band built up a solid base of fans and it was albums like ‘Touch of Sin’ and ‘Comin’ Out Fighting’ that made the band known beyond the borders of their home country.

Even though many other projects took up space in his busy schedule, Mat Sinner was always able to find time for Sinner.

With the previous album ‘Santa Muerte’ the band went on new paths. Female vocals and a strong Thin Lizzy influence characterized the album. The new album ‘Brotherhood’ is a step back to the roots without Sinner copying themselves. Metal is again more in the foreground and the songs on ‘Brotherhood’ sound more edgy and rough. It is the title track that creates immediate clarity here and what concerns the following ‘We Came to Rock’ it is evident that Sinner are back to more metal.

Heavy, but slower is ‘Refuse to Surrender ‘. Here it is the driving rhythm and the powerful guitars that give the song its punch. Headbanging is the order of the day with such smashers as ‘The Rocker Rides Away’, while the slower and darker ‘The Last Generation’ shows the entire spectrum of Sinner in 2022.

What also makes ‘Brotherhood’ a very interesting album is the list of guest vocalists Mat Sinner could win for the new record. Oliver Palotai, Ralf Scheepers, Ronnie Romero, Tom Englund and death metal icon Dave Ingram, they all contributed to the class of this album.

‘Brotherhood’ is more than just a new album from Sinner. It is a statement that the flame is still alive, a musical plea for cohesion and mutual support. Very good.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Bulletproof
  2. We Came To Rock
  3. Reach Out
  4. Brotherhood
  5. Refuse To Surrender
  6. The Last Generation
  7. Gravity
  8. The Man They Couldn’t Hang
  9. The Rocker Rides Away
  10. My Scars
  11. 40 Days 40 Nights

Label: Atomic Fire Records

Genre: Heavy Metal

Release Date EU: July 15th, 2022




AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: