CD review SINNER ‘Santa Muerte’

(8/10) Sometimes small adjustments have an exciting effect and the new Sinner album is a good example for this. After nearly four decades of Sinner it’s the first time that bandleader Mat Sinner shares vocal duties.

The bassist/producer/bandleader could gain for the new album ‘Santa Muerte’ with Giorgia Colleluori an extremely talented singer. The first time Mat Sinner noticed the great vocals of Colleluori when she fronted Eternal Idol. As a next step the vocalist from Venice became a background singer of the well-established Rock Meets Classic ensemble. Being impressed by her vocals the idea was born to add female vocals to Sinner and after some try-out shows the decision was taken, Colleluori becomes a permanent member of Sinner.

The effect of this decision can be listened to on the new longplayer ‘Santa Muerte’. What otherwise would have become another standard Sinner album got with this addition a new touch. Having two singers on board, Mat still sings on the album too, allows the band to take a much wider approach when it comes to music. Without female vocals of the Italian vocalist song like the bluey highlight ‘Death Letter’ wouldn’t have been possible. The song for sure is remarkable with Colleluori showing her entire vocal range, from soulful to rough and wild. ‘Lucky 13’ is another great example, this time loud and furious. It’s a bold step of the band to go for such an ‘experiment’ but it will be for sure rewarded by fans and there is more to report.

Ricky Warwick (Black Star Riders) and Ronnie Romero (Ritchie Blackmore’s Rainbow) both having guest appearances on ‘Santa Muerte’ also. While Warwick enriches ‘What Went Wrong’ it is Romero adding vocals for ‘Fiesta Y Copas’.

For all Sinner fans that might be a bit scared right now, let me tell you that there is still a lot of Sinner trademarks included on the album. The Thin Lizzy inspired sound the band, fostered over all the years, is still present and songs like ‘What Went Wrong’ and  ‘Craving’ are 100% Sinner with no less than Alex Scholpp and Tom Naumann adding a lot of guitar power to songs like ‘Last Exit Hell’

‘Santa Muerte’ is a Sinner album showcasing a band leader and a band that’s not afraid of evolving their music. This longplayer is definitely good stuff for your ears.



  1. Shine On
  2. Fiesta Y Copas
  3. Santa Muerte
  4. Last Exit Hell
  5. What Went Wrong
  6. Lucky 13
  7. Death Letter
  8. Craving
  9. The Wolf
  10. Misty Mountain
  11. The Ballad of Jack
  12. Stormy Night

Label: AFM Music

Genre: Melodic Metal

Release Date EU: September 13th, 2019



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: