Review MISERY INDEX ‘Complete Control’

Baltimore-based metallurgists Misery Index have ‘Complete Control’ ready to be unleashed. The four-piece band premiered in 2003 with the ‘Retaliation’ album and isn’t known as a band flooding the metal community with records. During their whole time the quartet unleashed just six longplayers and number seven is waiting in the starting blocks.

‘Complete Control’ for sure isn’t a lengthy album. 33 minutes running time says it all and nine tracks is also not a challenge for what fits on a release. What fans get to hear though on ‘Complete Control’ is raw and sinister death metal that isn’t built on conformity. Baltimore’s riff grinders pulverize everything within half an hour, and it all starts with ‘Administer the Dagger’. Not spoiling a second, the quartet placed a massive wrecking ball on the leadoff spot. After a few seconds the opener gains speed rather quickly and evolves to a high pace death metal ace.

‘Complete Control’ seems to have no brakes and a higher pace is what rules. At the same time, Misery Index doesn’t only push the pedal to the metal. Groove is another important element when it comes to this album. The title track is such an example. Death metal is what stands in the forefront and still, there are some hardcore elements that have been woven in too.

Regardless of faster or more groove-oriented, each of the tunes is a steam hammer that crushes everything and the only thing that saves listeners are strong neck-muscles.

After half an hour it’s time for the album closing track. ‘Now Defied!’ is a wild and furious way to finish off ‘Complete Control’. It’s not the epic grande finale. It is more of a strong kick that leaves you behind with a mouth wide open. This album doesn’t know the term ‘compromise’. ‘Complete Control’ rolls over you with steamroller force.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Administer the Dagger
  2. The Eaters and the Eaten
  3. Complete Control
  4. Necessary Suffering
  5. Rites of cruelty
  6. Conspiracy of None
  7. Infiltration
  8. Reciprocal Repulsion
  9. Now defied!

Label: Century Media

Genre: Death Metal

Release Date EU: May 13th, 2022




AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: