Bruce Soord and The Pineapple Thief released a new album which, in a way, isn’t that new. ‘Give It Back’ is the title of a record that features twelve songs and all of them have seen the light of day earlier.

The story of ‘Give It Back’ started when drummer Gavin Harrison started to dive into The Pineapple Thief back catalogue to prepare himself for the live shows. While going through the songs, he picked some tunes he thought would be worth to revisit. Soord was excited by the idea and with an open mindset, tunes from ‘Little Man’, ‘All the Wars’ and ‘Tightly Unwound’ got a new shine.

The tracks on ‘Give It Back’ are not just re-recorded versions of older tunes. The duo gave each of the tracks a new touch and feel which makes the album also to an interesting release for fans who have the three mentioned longplayers already as part of their collection. Sections of the songs have been shifted, extra verses have been added and it all sounds great. It also gave Soord the opportunity to close some of the songs from a lyrical perspective, tracks that so far had more of an open end.

What goes without saying is that album and songs are great representatives for sophisticated rock music. Here are masters of their craft at work and the result speaks for itself. ‘Give It Back’ is a well-done longplayer that will be a delight for fans as well as it will create attention of folks that might not have heard so much from The Pineapple Thief.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Wretched Soul
  2. Dead in the Water
  3. Give It Back
  4. Build a World
  5. Start Your Descent
  6. 137
  7. Shoot First
  8. Boxing Day
  9. Warm Sea
  10. Someone Pull Me Out
  11. Last Man Standing
  12. Little Man


Genre: Prog Rock

Release Date EU: May 13th, 2022




AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: