Review CRASHDÏET ‘Automaton’

One of the big players in Swedens glam rock scene is Crashdïet. The band was founded back in 2000 and in a way is a kid of a new century with roots in the ‘80s. Sleaze- and glam are the source of inspiration for the band that not only had a look on the sunny side of life. Crashdïet went through a rough patch just when time was right to take off.

After having released their debut ‘Rest in Sleaze’ a strike of fate hit the band. Frontman Dave Lepard committed suicide. This was a shock for Crashdïet and the guys decided to stop with the band. Encouraged by fans, and Lepards’ mother, the band decided to go for restart in 2007. After a shorter intermezzo with singer Olli Herman Kosunen, the band found in Simon Cruz the perfect frontman in 2009, at least for a few years.

The next punch in the face for the band was when their manager Michael Sundén passed away due to a serious head injury cause by falling during a tour the band played with Saxon in North America. But Crashdïet is a band that doesn’t give up and although sailing through heavy sea, the guys moved on. Listening to their newest album ‘Automaton’ shows that all these decisions have been the right ones.

‘Automaton’ features twelve powerful sleaze rock songs, odes to a genre that boomed in the ‘80s. There is a lot of Skid Row, L.A. Guns,… weaved into songs like the roaring ‘Resurrection of the Damned’. Melodies, heaviness, and some street credibility are what makes each of the songs to a great hard rock anthem. These twelve songs are an excellent soundtrack for a solid rock’n’roll party.

Being inspired by the glorious days of L.A.-rooted sleaze rock, the quartet hits the ball out of the ballpark with each of the songs the records for the album. ‘Automaton’ acts hereby as the intro and hands over the baton to ‘Together Whatever’. What is remarkable right away is that Gabriel Keyes voice, the current singer, fits perfectly to Crashdïet’s music. Rough and unpolished, the voice has an own identity that adds to the hard rock vibe the quartet creates.

Furthermore, there is the bombastic ‘No Man’s Land’, equipped with a very dense sound, and there is the hard-hitting ‘Dead Crusade’, all sound being a delight for hard rockers. Last but not least to mention is ‘Powerline’, a song the quartet gets support by Michael Starr (Steel Panther). The moderately paced rocker is a cool one with two voices being in perfect harmony.

Crashdïet had to go through some tough times and fate didn’t spoil the guys so far. Still, it was good to get over all these hurdles of life and move on since ‘Automaton’ is one of the best hard rocking sleaze metal albums in years. Let’s get the party started.

Rating: 9 out of 10.


  1. Automaton
  2. Together Whatever
  3. Shine On
  4. No Man’s Land
  5. Darker Minds
  6. Dead Crusade
  7. Powerline (feat. Michael Starr)
  8. Resurrection of the Damned
  9. We Die Hard
  10. Shell Shock
  11. Unbroken
  12. I Can’t Move On (Without You)

Label: Crusader Records

Genre: Sleaze Metal

Release Date EU: April 29th, 2022




AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: