Review RADIANT ‘Written By Life’

‘Written By Life’ is the second album from German melodic metal outfit Radiant. The band premiered with ‘Radiant’ in 2018 and returns four years later with a new longplayer. The quintet, consisting of Herbie Langhans (v), Carsten Stepanowicz (g), Flo Gottsleben (g), Markus Beck (b) and  Manni Spalka (d) offer eleven songs with roots in melodic rock and metal. The band manages to find the sweet spot when it comes to melodies, rocking guitars and some edges. Although being built on catchy hooks, Radiant give the songs on ‘Written By Life’ a heavy touch, also due to the excellent vocals by Herbie Langhans.

The singer was part of several bands and projects. Mob Rules, Seventh Avenue, Sinbreed and Avantasia, they all have in common that Langhans enriched their song with his great voice. Radiant doesn’t take a different route. The singer is an important factor when it comes to Radiant and not to forget are the guitars too.

Having two guitarists on board allows Radiant to create a lot of riff power and well-placed solo parts are another great moment on this longplayer. Each of the eleven songs has an infective potential since you don’t get the hooks out of your mind. The just do their job. Tunes like the rocking ‘Stand the Fight’ and the up-tempo ‘Don’ Stop the Daylight’ might not start a revolution in the music industry but echo excellently forged music that attracts and entertains.

Lyrically the ‘Written By Life’ isn’t exactly a concept album. It is more of an overarching theme that connects the songs. The title of the album is hereby not a coincident since each of the band members wrote 2-3 stories of their personal life, stories that morphed into songs for ‘Written By Life’.

Radiant’s second record is a dynamic and powerful piece of music with songs that are great hard rockers with some edges. Good stuff for ears, soul, and mind.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Nightshift
  2. Don’t Stop the Daydream
  3. Real Passion Will Never Die
  4. Live The Adventure
  5. Stand That Fight
  6. Because Of You
  7. Contagioned
  8. Rock And Win
  9. Dare To Fail
  10. Twice A Week
  11. Hang Around with Friends

Label: Massacre Records

Genre: Melodic Rock

Release Date EU: April 22nd, 2022




AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: