Review MOLYBARON ‘The Mutiny’

The first time I heard songs from Molybaron was when the band opened for A Pale Horse Named Death. Even though their music didn’t fit exactly to the dark metal of APHND, the band still could win over some fans with their passionate show at the Baroeg in Rotterdam, The Netherlands. That was almost to date two years ago and we all know that a lot happened since then.

Not allowing the pandemic distraction to take over too much, that Irish/French quartet started to write new songs, which in the meantime are also recorded and ready to be shipped to the record stores.

Molybaron plays a mix of alternative rock and progressive metal, with a strong atmospheric expression acting as the glue that keeps it all together. ‘The Munity’, so the title of the sophomore album, is built on this blend of styles and what gets out of the speakers is well-sounding music that features technical finesse as well as it is approachable from the first time spinning the record.

To mention a few tracks isn’t easy and a tough choose. The album is convincing from start to end but there is with ‘Slave to the Algorithm’ a tune that fires on all cylinders. The energy the songs transports is impressive and showcases in a good way the music of Molybaron. A also would like to mention the opener ‘Animals’ that combines musical power with a layered approach. The song is a good start into the album with hooks that addictive.

The rather modern sounding ‘Something for the Pain’ is another track that should be mentioned. It is a dark one with a lot of emotions being connected. Listening to the song makes you feel the pain. Also riff power the quartet unleash impresses when listening to songs like ‘The Hand that Feeds You’ and ‘Twenty-Four Hours’ with the latter at least reminding me of the earlier Volbeat.

‘The Mutiny’ is a well-crafted new album from Molybaron. This record is a bold next chapter for the band. They made a big step forward within two years. It would be great to see the guys live on stage again, this time with such a good longplayer being part of their repertoire.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Animals
  2. Lucifer 3
  3. Amongst The Boys And The Dead Flowers
  4. Prosperity Gospel
  5. The Lighthouse
  6. Slave To The Algorithm
  7. Something For The Pain
  8. The Hand That Feeds You
  9. Twenty Four Hours
  10. Ordinary Madness

Label: InsideOut Music

Genre: Alternative Metal

Release Date EU: October 29th, 2021




AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: