Review  LORDS OF BLACK ‘Alchemy of Souls, Pt.2’

Almost to date a year ago, Spanish power metal enthusiasts Lords Of Black released ‘Alchemy of Souls, Pt.1’ and it shouldn’t be a too big of a surprise that a part 2 is waiting in line to continue the success story of the quartet.

‘Alchemy of Souls, Pt.2’ is album number five the guys add to the books and as the predecessors, also the newest addition to their discography shows musical skills and willpower. What is lacking this time the creative aspect of their music, the heart and soul. While the earlier releases created excitement during the first time spinning the record it is a different experience this time. The songs on ‘Alchemy of Souls, Pt.2’ are certainly not bad stuff for your ears and still there is this final spark missing that ignites the album. Going through the 13 songs on the tracklist is more like an endless river which might be exciting to look at once, but in the end it’s a lot of the same you take in with your senses. It is similar with this album. There are no real ups and, fortunately, also no real downs.

It might be that the band, and especially singer Ronnie Romero with all the side project, travelled on the fastlane of rock’n’roll too far and maybe a break or some kind of distraction could help. No doubt, songs like ‘How Long Do I Have Now’ are well-crafted ones and it isn’t a bad idea either to listen to ‘Mind Killer’, but all in all I must say that there are too little ‘wow’-moments included.

‘Alchemy of Souls, Pt.2 is still 100% Lords Of Black and the album will deliver to the expectation, but it is also not more. It feels like Lords Of Black decided to walk on save ground without looking too far into the unkown.

Rating: 7 out of 10.


  1. Prelude (Alchimia Confessio 1458 A.D.)
  2. Maker Of Nothingness
  3. What’s Become Of Us
  4. Bound To You
  5. Before That Time Can Come
  6. Mind Killer
  7. Death Dealer
  8. Prayers Turned To Whispers
  9. In A Different Light
  10. How Long Do I Have Now
  11. Fated To Be Destroyed
  12. No Hero Is Homeless
  13. Sympathy

Label: Frontiers Music

Genre: Melodic Power Metal

Release Date EU: October 15th, 2021




AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: