Review MORGOTH ‘Ungod’ (re-release)

One of the pioneers when it comes to German death metal is a band, hailing from Meschede, North Rhine-Westphalia. Their name – Morgoth.

Death metal gained momentum in the early 90s and Morgoth was one of the first bands from Germany that could establish themselves as an important part of this soaring new chapter of extreme metal. The first two records, ‘Cursed’ and ‘Odium’, are timeless representatives of a time when hellish growls replaced catchy melodies and listening to these albums is like tuning in on channel 666, broadcasting right from the abyss.

Unfortunately, things didn’t go smoothly for the band and after having released the ‘Feel Sorry for the Fanatic’ album the guys disbanded. A return to the stages in 2012 was well-received by fans and after having played numerous live shows a new album suddenly was in sight. ‘Ungod’ saw the light of day in 2015 but for a next time stability was not what followed the band. ‘Ungod’ is from another time than the early days and features with Disbelief’s Carsten Jäger a new frontman after Marc Grewe left the band.

‘Ungod’ was certainly a bit underrated at the time. Now it is MDD Records that gives Morgoth’s last longplayer a new chance. A re-release will hit the shelfs on September 24th and songs like ‘Snakestate’ are a good argument for pressing the ‘Start’-button. Also the massive title track spreads its devilish groove and if you look for stuff that is more to the point, check out ‘God is Evil’. This song is a musical slap in the face with Jäger growling as if there would be no tomorrow. The grooving middle part marks a cool break before the up-tempo inferno continues.

‘Ungod’ in the past might not have received the attention the album deserves. However, it is a brute and evil longplayer that can easily compete with many releases we get offered these days. Train your neck muscles since headbanging is an obligation.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. House Of Blood
  2. Voice Of Slumber
  3. Snakestate
  4. Black Enemy
  5. Descent Into Hell
  6. Ungod
  7. Nemesis
  8. God Is Evil
  9. Traitor
  10. Prison In Flesh
  11. The Dark Sleep

Label: MDD Records

Genre: Death Metal

Release Date EU: September 24rd, 2021

AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: