Review HOODED MENACE ‘The Tritonus Bell’

Since 2007, Hooded Menace is a regular guest on release schedules as well as on stage. Founded by Finnish guitarist Lasse Pyykkö, the band premiered in 2008 with the ‘Fulfill the Curse’ album. With ‘The Tritonus Bell’, the quartet finished work on their next musical strike, album number six for the band.

Following a three-year release pattern, the new album is the successor of the 2018 release ‘Ossuarium Silhouettes Unhallowed’. ‘The Tritonus Bell’ features seven new songs and it’s an intro called ‘Chthonic Exordium‘ which leads to the first smasher. ‘Chime Diabolicus’ is an eight-minute crusher, equipped with meat cleaver riffs and deep guttural growls. With all the heaviness embedded, there is a sense of melody weaved in too, which makes the song to a mighty and savage treat.

Hooded Menace lasers in on heaviness instead of speed. The brutality of this album is built on a slower pace that is amplified by a hard-hitting rhythm section and a solid groove. Well-placed breaks are the additional spice that adds an extra thrill to songs like ‘Those Who Absorb the Light’.

Another song that combines the massive sound approach with melodic guitar leads is ‘Corpus Asunder’. The song reminds me to a certain extent of the earlier Paradise Lost and is a highlight on the album. That the album also features with ‘The Torture Never Stops’ a W.A.S.P cover as a bonus doesn’t surprise. The entire album contains more traditional heavy metal references from the 80s and it’s the W.A.S.P. cover version, a well-done interpretation by the way, that underlines the influences.

‘The Tritonus Bell’ might be a bit faster, but never speedy, than earlier releases of Hooded Menace. The songs might be also a bit catchier than some other stuff the band did in the past and still the album represents the quartet with 100%. The trademarks are present, and the new little twists unleash a potential for largening the fanbase while still being true to their sound. Horns up.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Chthonic Exordium
  2. Chime Diabolicus
  3. Blood Ornaments
  4. Those who absorb the Night
  5. Corpus Asunder
  6. Scattered into Dark
  7. Instruments of Somber Finality
  8. The Torture Never Stops (W.A.S.P. cover) (Bonus)

Label: Season Of Mist

Genre: Death Metal

Release Date EU: August 27th, 2021




AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: