Review SEPULTURA ‚SepulQuatra‘

Brazilian thrash metal pioneers Sepultura have been hit by the pandemic, as nearly everybody. The whole music industry, at least the live sector, came to a full stop in no time with a future being unpredictable. In a time when everything came to a stand still, Sepultura released a new studio album ‚Quadra’ and the guys haven‘t been able to promote this new longplayer on tour.

Such a situation can be either paralyzing or leads to a ‚now more then ever‘ mindset. The latter is the route Sepultura decided to walk on. Being in need for communication and exchange made them starting a regular podcast, SepulQuarta. This online event gave the band the opportunity to connect with people and having conversation. It also allowed the band to make music and play songs, each of them performing from home. 

Since Sepultura wasn‘t the only band that faced such a situation, the podcast featured quickly a great list of guests that performed Sepultura song remotely with the band. By this, step by step and episode by episode, the list of recorded songs got longer and what is more logical that releasing an album that features these recordings.

‚SepulQuatra‘ is the title of this longplayer that contains an 15 songs tracklist. Renown musicians and friends add their special piece to classics like ‚Inner Self‘, ‚Kaiowas‘ and ‚Territory‘. And who could be a better partner for a version of Motörhed‘s ‚Organsmatron‘ than guitarist Phil Campbell.

‚SepulQuatra‘ wouldn‘t have happened under normal circumstances. The regular studio, tour, studio,… pattern would have eaten up all the time. But a special situation offers extra opportunities and Sepultura made use of it. This album features great songs, being mostly timeless classics of a band that co-defined a whole genre. In addition it a document of a time, that hopefully ends rather soon so that things can go back to normal, maybe a new normal.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Territory (feat. David Ellefson)
  2. Cut Throat (feat. Scott Ian)
  3. Sepulnation (feat. Danko Jones)
  4. Inner Self (feat. Phil Rind)
  5. Hatred Aside (feat. F. Lira, A. Burns, M. Puertas)
  6. Mask (feat. Devin Townsend)
  7. Fear, Pain, Chaos, Suffering (feat. Emmily Barreto)
  8. Vandals Nest (feat. Alex Skolnick)
  9. Slave New World (feat. Matthew K. Heafy)
  10. Ratamahatta (feat. Joao Barone & Charles Gavin)
  11. Apes of God (feat. Rob Cavestany)
  12. Phantom Self (feat. Mark Holcomb)
  13. Slaves of Pain (feat. Fred Leclercq & Marcello Pompeu) 6
  14. Kaiowas (feat. Rafael Bittencourt)
  15. Orgasmatron (feat. Phil Campbell)

Label: Nuclear Blast

Genre: Thrash Metal

Release Date EU: August 14th, 2021




AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: