Review CROWNE ‘Kings in the North’

Crowne and ‘Kings in the North’, that seems to be a very royal release that we get offered by Frontiers Music. If the Swedish melodic rock powerhouse will become the king in the North is something, future will bring to surface, or not. What is a given is the fact that the prerequisites are in place to be a successful band with a debut that can score wins.

Crowne, that is Alexander Strandell (Art Nation), guitarist/keyboardist/producer Jona Tee (H.E.A.T.), bassist John Levén (Europe), drummer Christian Lundqvist (The Poodles). The album also features Love Magnusson (Dynazty) providing guitar solos. I don’t want to use the term supergroup here, but the musicians of Crowne are certainly no rookies.

As to expect not different, looking on the musical motherships of the involved we see some strong contributors to the success of melodic rock and metal, hailing from Sweden. Therefor not a surprise that Crowne takes a similar route. The title track takes it away with excellently crafted melodies that have enough of a rock spirit to not drown in irrelevance. ‘Kings in the North’, the album, is done powerful and professionalism is one of the keywords. The guys know how to handle their instruments, the production booms and the melodies are catching attention right away. A song like the harder ‘Sharoline’ and the faster paced ‘Sum of All Fears’ are thundering examples and ‘Mad World’ benefits from a bold start that shifts into an AOR-ish verse.

Next to these rocking tunes it is ‘Unbreakable’ that pours some sugar on you and the obligatory ballad is present, although pushed very much towards the end since ‘Save Me From Myself’ ends the album. But before this happens it is the Whitesnake-inspired ‘Cross to Bear’ that combines for another time heaviness and catchiness.

‘Kings in the North’ is an album that comes right in time. Fitting the upcoming summer days in the Northern hemisphere this longplayer is a colorful release with an expiration date that doesn’t end on Midsomer.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Kings In The North
  2. Perceval
  3. Sharoline
  4. Unbreakable
  5. Mad World
  6. One In A Million
  7. Sum Of All Fears
  8. Set Me Free
  9. Make A Stand
  10. Cross To Bear
  11. Save Me From Myself

Label: Frontiers Music

Genre: Hard Rock

Release Date EU: June 18th, 2021


AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: