Review HERMAN FRANK ‘Two For a Lie’

Herman Frank is one of the veterans when it comes to heavy metal from Germany. It was in the early eighties when the guitarist from Hannover became the forerunner of a genre that just started to gain momentum. Enriching the sound of Accept and Victory with his guitar play made Herman to an important person in metal. With all this not to forget is his work as producer, being at the helm for records of bands like Saxon and Rose Tattoo.

Since 2009, Frank also unleashes solo albums. ‘Loyal to None’ was the first release with his name on the cover and three additional records followed. Being in business for such a long time also means, that a pandemic can’t bring you down. Instead, Herman and bandmates started to follow the creative flow with working on ‘Two For a Lie’, the next longplayer the guitarist adds to the books.

With a mindset of not changing a well-functioning team, Herman worked again with singer Rick Altzi and bass player Michael Müller. A fresh and new breeze is provided by guitarist Mike Pesin and drummer Kevin Kott, both completing the line-up that worked on ‘Two For a Lie’.

‘Teutonic Order’, also released as single and video, starts off the album and is characteristic for what to expect from this longplayer. ‘Two For a Lie’ is a heavy pounding riff attack that includes a great groove, excellent solos and vocal melodies that make each of the tunes on this album easy approachable. ‘Venom’ adds a hard rocking aspect to the album with a chorus that pits a spell on you. Furthermore, it is recommended to listen to the fast and thundering ‘Eye of the Storm’. ‘Hail the New Kings’ doesn’t put a foot on the brake either while the grooving ‘Danger’ slowly evolves to an earworm.

‘Two For a Lie’ reflects the essence of heavy metal. There aren’t any weak songs on this longplayer, that entirely focusses on heavy tunes with a lot of riff power. Sentimental moments or ballads is what this album doesn’t provide. Instead, fans get a lot of metal anthems that represent the entire beauty of metal, build on passion and dedication for this kind of music with the right musical toolkit at hand. Great stuff.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Teutonic Order
  2. Venom
  3. Hate
  4. Eye Of The Storm
  5. Liar
  6. Hail The New Kings
  7. Just A Second To Lose
  8. Danger
  9. Stand Up And Fight
  10. Open Your Mind |

Label: AFM Records

Genre: Heavy Metal

Release Date EU: May 21st, 2021



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: