Review VAN MORRISON ‘Latest Record Project: Volume 1’

If you are regular guest at Markus’ Heavy Music Blog you recognized that I once in a while take a short detour to an album or a live show that might not be fully relevant in the context of rock and metal. Still, there is a lot of good music out there and releases like Van Morrison’s newest longplayer feature these great sounds that are independent from hard-hitting riffs. I’m aware that some of you might stop reading right away, but the ones that are curious and continue will read about excellently done music that reflects a blend of rock, blues, jazz and R&B, all done with heart and soul.

The veteran releases with ‘Latest Record Project: Volume 1’ his 42th longplayer which is an impressive number in itself. And if one has been in the music business for such a long time, I guess that one have seen and experienced it all. With such a status and musical vita, you basically have the freedom to musically follow your heart and let creativity flow. ‘Latest Record Project: Volume 1’ captures this creative flow and slice it into 28 songs, spread over two CDs or three vinyls.

One can wonder how much new can get to plate after so many years in business. The good thing that this album shows that you can stay true to your roots and still add variation to the mix. The songs on ‘Latest Record Project: Volume 1’ have been created through the period of isolation and reflect a cool mix of influences with the smoothly rolling title track supposed to start things off.

Another song, not to miss, is the bluesy ‘A Few Bars Too Early’ while the rock-roots break through with ‘Stop Bitching, Do Something’. The effects of the lockdown on music, life and soul have been captured on the grooving ‘Dead Beat Saturday Night’. ‘Why are You On Facebook?’ isn’t only the title of another stellar song on this album, but at the same time a question that asks for individual reflection. Thematically connected in a way is ‘Where Have All the Rebels Gone’, addressing a lack of individual thinking that is often replaced by boring fuss on social media.

‘Latest Record Project: Volume 1’ showcases a legendary musician at work, delivering quality and quantity on this two-disc release. This longplayer offers excellently crafted music through songs that have a vintage charm while still being modern and relevant.



  1. Latest Record Project
  2. Where Have All the Rebels Gone?
  3. Psychoanalysts’ Ball
  4. No Good Deed Goes Unpunished
  5. Tried to Do the Right Thing
  6. The Long Con
  7. Thank God for the Blues
  8. Big Lie
  9. A Few Bars Early
  10. It Hurts Me Too
  11. Only a Song
  12. Diabolic Pressure
  13. Deadbeat Saturday Night
  14. Blue Funk

CD 2

  1. Double Agent
  2. Double Bind
  3. Love Should Come With A Warning
  4. Breaking The Spell
  5. Up County Down
  6. Duper’s Delight
  7. My Time After a While
  8. He’s Not the Kingpin
  9. Mistaken Identity
  10. Stop Bitching, Do Something
  11. Western Man
  12. They Own the Media
  13. Why Are You on Facebook?
  14. Jealousy

Label: Exile / BMG

Genre: Soul, Blues, R&B

Release Date EU: May 7th, 2021


AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: