Review POP EVIL ‘Versatile’

Pop Evil have already their sixth album at the start. Four songs of the new longplayer have already been released as appetizers and now it’s time to serve the main course.

‘Versatile’ is the title of the new album, and what is represented by the record reflects a certain level of versatility. The beginning of the album has a name: ‘Let the Chaos Reign’, a song that is built on a banging riff which is a first highlight due to the chant-like vocals. You have probably heard this song already as one of their singles, and if you haven’t, I can recommend you to catch up as soon as possible. It’s also the only song on the album that doesn’t drift away into calmer and melodic fields. This track is a blast from start to finish.

The thundering riffs stay with us over the entire length of the record, with a melodic touch also blended in. ‘Breathe Again’ is such a song, where hardness and melody are in constant competition.

The mentioned versatility is also reflected in the very dark ‘Work’, while with ‘Stronger (The Time is Now)’ a half ballad has sneaked onto the ‘Versatile’. Here, the charts will surely be targeted and also ‘Raise Your Flag’ has commercial potential, but not too much substance. With ‘Survivor’ and ‘Human Nature’ there are also two weak and replaceable songs on this longplayer.

Pop Evil are at their best when they let it rock and hit with full power. The opener is a perfect example and a few more of these explosive moments would have been good for the record. So, it remains to say that Pop Evil have added a quite good record to the books, which will also be commercially successful. But I’ll stick with it, ‘Let the Chaos Rule’ is the smashing highlight.

Rating: 7 out of 10.


  1. Let the Chaos Reign
  2. Set Me Free
  3. Breathe Again
  4. Work
  5. Inferno
  6. Stronger (The Time is Now)
  7. Raise Your Flag
  8. Human Nature
  9. Survivor
  10. Worst in Me
  11. Same Blood
  12. Fire Inside

Label: eOne

Genre: Modern Metal

Release Date EU: May 21st, 2021



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: