CD review FM ‘Tough It Out Live’

It was on October 2nd, 1989 when British melodic rockers FM released with ‘Tough It Out’ an album that still belongs to the highlights this genre ever brought to surface. With no less than Neil Kernon at the helm, the album is a treat for fans of melodic rock music.

To celebrate the 30th anniversary of this milestone release, FM embarked on a tour in 2019 with some special attention to their sophomore album. The band performed the entire ‘Tough It Out’ longplayer live and added a few extra band highlights to the setlist.

To give the great songs of FM’s second longplayer an extra boost, band and Frontiers Music release a live album with all songs from ‘Tough It Out’ under the banner of ‘Tough It Out Live’. To spice things up and add extra value to the release, the package includes a second CD that comprises of rarely performed live recordings which reflect the wider aspect of FM’s musical history to date.

‘Tough It Out Live’ is celebrating the anniversary of an excellent AOR album and listening to tunes like ‘Don’t Stop’ is everything but not suffering. AOR fans will appreciate the release and folks that never heard of the FM highlight from the ‘80s have a good chance to catch-up. This album is good entertainment, not more and not less.

Rating: 8 out of 10.



  1. Intro
  2. Tough It Out
  3. Don’t Sto
  4. Bad Luck
  5. Someday (You’ll Come Running)
  6. Everytime I Think Of You
  7. Burning My Heart Down
  8. The Dream That Died
  9. Obsession
  10. Can You Hear Me Calling?
  11. Does It Feel Like Love
  12. Feels So Good


  1. Digging Up The Dirt
  2. Tough Love
  3. Hollow
  4. Dangerous
  5. Hard Day In Hell
  6. Wildside
  7. Breathe Fire
  8. Only The Strong Survive
  9. Blood And Gasoline
  10. I Ain’t The One
  11. I Heard It Through The Grapevine

Label: Frontiers Music

Genre: AOR

Release Date EU: April 9th, 2021



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: