CD review WIZARD ‘Metal in My Head’

Wizard is one of those bands that have been on the scene for decades, have built up a loyal fan base and have never really made the big breakthrough. Eleven albums, however, demonstrate their passion for heavy metal and everything that goes with it.

Founded in 1989, the guys had their first release in 1991 when they unleashed the ‘Legions of Doom’ demo to the metallic underground. Throughout the years Wizard has always remained true to traditional heavy metal. Even though the 90’s was a difficult decade for metal bands, the five guys managed to establish and grow the band.

The latest album from Wizard is called ‘Metal in My Head’ and listening to the record gives you the immediate impression that the title is more than just words. Wizard has metal in their minds. With a song like ’30 Years of Metal’ the band looks retrospectively and a recurring line of text is ‘we are proud’, and rightly so. What certainly suits the new album is Wizard’s new addition. Tommy Hartung joined Wizard in 2020 and brought extra riff power.

After more than three decades Wizard have remained true to themselves. Regardless of trends and hypes, the quintet’s compass is clearly set in the direction of metal. In a world where fake, fame and glory for the moment are in the limelight, such consistency is remarkable. Down to earth metal for down to earth metalheads.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. I Bring Light Into The Dark
  2. Metal Feast
  3. Metal In My Head
  4. Victory
  5. 30 Years Of Metal
  6. We Fight
  7. Whirlewolf
  8. Years Of War
  9. Firesword
  10. Destiny

Label: Massacre Records

Genre: Heavy Metal

Release Date EU: February 19th, 2021



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: