CD review MAGNUM ‘Dance of the Black Tattoo’

Magnum released three years ago with ‘The Valley of Tears – The Ballads’ a very successful compilation which focused on the calmer moments of the Magnum discography.

Now the veterans of melodic rock have decided to revisit the idea and re-entered the archives to compile a continuation of ‘The Valley of Tears – The Ballads’ entitled ‘Dance of the Black Tattoo’. The new album emphasizes the more rocking moments of Magnum, but it must be mentioned that even here there are some calmer episodes too. That’s just how Magnum sound, a well-balanced blend of powerfully rocking and soulfully swinging tunes, all being a treat for listeners ears.

The 14 tracks on ‘Dance of the Black Tattoo’ are live recordings and radio edits, all remastered by Magnum’s mastermind Tony Clarkin. So a sound-wise delight of the Magnum classics is guaranteed in any case.

There is not much more to say about ‘Dance of the Black Tattoo’. The songs should be known by everybody, at least to the fans, and only one question remains: for whom is this release of any interest? Collectors and completists will probably be interested in this album, but anyhow, Magnum’s timeless music is, as always, a pleasure to listen to.

Rating: 7 out of 10.


  1. Black Skies (live) 
  2. Freedom Day (live) 
  3. All My Bridges (live)
  4. On A Storyteller’s Night (live)
  5. Dance Of The Black Tattoo (live) 
  6. On Christmas Day (radio edit)
  7. Born To Be King
  8. Phantom Of Paradise Circus
  9. No God Or Saviour
  10. Your Dreams Won’t Die (live)
  11. Twelve Men Wise And Just (live) 
  12. Show Me Your Hands (radio edit) 
  13. Not Forgiven (radio edit)
  14. Madman or Messiah (radio edit)

Label: Steamhammer

Genre: Melodic Rock

Release Date EU: January 8th, 2021



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: