CD review ALTA REIGN ‘Mother’s Day’

Alta Reign is the new project of an old acquaintance. Jeff Plate, drummer for TSO and well known from his time with Savatage, launched with Alta Reign a new band that includes next to Plate also TSO keyboard player Jane Mangini, vocalist & guitarist Tommy Cook, vocalist & guitarist Collin Holloway, as well as bassist Kevin McCarthy and keyboarder/guitarist Zach Hamilton.

Alta Reign kicks off the new year 2021 with a debut album, ‘Mother’s Day’. Now Mother’s Day is usually later in the year, but this early greeting can also impress.
There are twelve songs on ‘Mother’s Day’, two of them with the support of well-known guitarists. Joel Hoekstra supports on ‘Mother’s Day’, the title track, while none other than Chris Caffery can be listened to on ‘Rise’.

Musically, Alta Reign operate in the fields of melodic metal, which sometimes reminds me of bands like Dokken (‘Never Say Never’ and ‘Shine’). Melodies and catchy choruses can be found in large quantity on ‘Mother’s Day’. The good thing is, that with all the built in melodies, the guitars never come up short. Crispy riffs and well executed solos are present throughout, which makes the whole record well worth listening to. Outstanding is the already mentioned title track with its furious beginning with screaming guitars. After such a start, the song doesn’t drop and evolves instead into a powerful melodic rocker that you shouldn’t miss.

If you like bands like Dokken, Savatage and also TSO you should risk an ear here. It could be worth it 😉

Rating: 7 out of 10.


  1. Shine
  2. Witness
  3. Thin Red Line
  4. Never Say Never
  5. Mother’s Day feat. Joel Hoekstra
  6. ESC (Escape)
  7. Come Out and Play
  8. Let’s Go! (I’m In Charge Now)
  9. Always
  10. Immortal
  11. Passage
  12. Rise feat. Chris Caffery

Label: Rat Pak Records

Genre: Melodic Metal

Release Date EU: January 8th, 2021


AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: