CD review DARKNESS ‘Over and Out’

German thrash metal veterans Darkness unleash their newest EP called Over and Out’, an album that follows ‘First Class Violence’ from 2018.

Darkness started in 1984 and is no stranger in metal. Although the real breakthrough didn’t happen, longplayers like the debut ‘Death Squad’ are highlights in German thrash metal.

Essen in Germany is the hometown of Darkness and shaped by the Ruhrgebiet, the quintet always had a down-to-earth approach. Nowadays the band is very much driven by Lacky and Arnd, both being the longterm force behind Darkness. With Meik and Lee, the group has a rather stable line-up since 2015 and it’s bassist Ben, being the newest member of the thrash metal powerhouse. These guys prove with ‘Over and Out’ that they are more than a second league group of Teutonic thrash metal.

Their new EP features seven songs, all interesting material. Especially the three new tracks are blistering thrash metal hymns without frills. Each of the riffs hit bulls eye andis close to knock-out punch. Some references to Kreator are weaved into songs like ‘Every Time You Curse Me’ and each of three songs is a firing on all cylinders, showcasing a band that’s hungry.

How heavy Skid Row’s ‘Slave to Grind’ album was and is shows Darkness’ cover version of the title track of this timeless album and that the quartet has many fans in Japan too is what can be witnessed with ‘Tinkerbell Must Die’. Certainly interesting for oldschool fans of the band are the two final tracks, featuring Pierre and Bruno from the ‘Death Squad’ line-up.

All in all we can conclude that ‘Over and Out’ is an EP that contains well-crafted thrash metal with the right punch. Well-done and it’s nowhere close to over and out for for Darkness.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Every Time You Curse Me
  2. Dawn Of The Dumb
  3. Over And Out
  4. Slave To The Grind (Skid Row cover)
  5. Tinkerbell Must Die (Live In Osaka, Japan)
  6. Armageddon
  7. Faded Pictures (Unplugged)

Label: Massacre Records

Genre: Thrash Metal

Release Date EU: November 27th, 2020



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal Video

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: