CD review CLUTCH Weathermaker Vault Series Vol. 1′

It started in summer 2019 when Weathermaker Music began to release digital singles from Clutch, the roaring powerhouse from Germantown, Maryland. The singles have been released under the header of ‘The Weathermaker Vault Series’ and the first set of songs will now be know published as longplayer – ‘The Weathermaker Vault Series Vol. 1’

Clutch recorded in total ten songs that are now form the tracklist on the album. The tunes are some classic Clutch songs but also cover versions of bands like ZZ Top.

Let’s start with the covers. The first one is ‘Evil’, originally by Willie Dixon and Clutch’s interpretation of this tune is a massive rock version that shows the entire energy, rock can release. Southern heat is what’s reflected in ‘Precious and Grace’, a song much more than just a musical Fata Morgana. Rock and blues melts under desert heat to a great total. And not to forget the booming version of the CCR classic ‘Fortunate Son’, being at least as good as the original. Although sticking closer to the original, the edges is what makes the difference and fits the song very well. Last but not least there is with ‘Algo Ha Cambiado’ a song in Spanish on the longplayer. It’s a punk rock song from Norberto Napolitano that gets some new life with this release.

Furthermore the album contains tracks like ‘Supergrass’ from the self-titled 1995 release. The song gains a lot in this new dress with a sound that partly reminds of bands like RATM. The essence of rock is also the foundation for the newly arranged ‘Electric Worry’ from the ‘From Beale Street to Oblivion’ album (2007). Also the very early days have been considered during ‘The Weathermaker Vault Series’ with ‘Passive Restraints’, being the title track EP, released in 1992.

Fans know each of these ten songs already since they went for the singles while fans of rock know at least some of the cover versions. However, this album is great way to revisit Clutch’s discography as well as it honors great bands and artists through excellently done cover version. ‘The Weathermaker Vault Series Vol.1’ breathes the essence of rock music and transfers a spirit into great music.

Rating: 9 out of 10.


  1. Passive Restraints (Clutch, Passive Restaints EP)
  2. Electric Worry (Clutch, From Beale Street To Oblivion)
  3. Run, John Barleycorn, Run (Clutch/Lionize split 7″)
  4. Evil (Original by Willie Dixon)
  5. Fortunate Son (Original by CCR)
  6. Algo Ha Cambiado (Original by Norberto Napolitano)
  7. Spacegrass (Clutch s/t)
  8. Precious And Grace (Original by ZZ Top)
  9. Smoke Banshee (Clutch, Pure Rock Fury)
  10. Willie Nelson (Clutch, Slow Hole To China)

Label: Weathermaker Mzusic

Genre: Rock

Release Date EU: November 27th, 2020



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: