Phil Campbell and the Bastard Sons is the band of Motörhead guitarist Phil Campbell who started with his sons Todd, Tyla and Dane a generation-bridging rock’n’roll powerhouse in 2016. A first EP came out the same year, followed by the full-length debut called ‘The Age Of Absurdity’.

Together with frontman Neil Starr, the band went on tour before returning to the studio for recording the sophomore longplayer ‘We’re the Bastards’. The current pandemic also impacted the UK-rockers, but with the strong believe of thundering rock’n’roll being an important element in these grey days in isolation, the guys managed to record 13 blistering songs, all summed up under the header of ‘We’re the Bastards’.

Not having had the chance for rehearsals was a different way of working on the album and it might have this new approach that added some extra liveliness to the new longplayer. The album sound more vital and speaks to the heart.

The energetic title track marks the starting point for this 54 minutes rock’n’roll trip that provides many highlights along the way. ‘We’re the Bastards’ has this dirty street rock vibe, music for clubs that are covered by the smell of beer and cigarettes. Although equipped with an excellent sound, nothing on this album sound polished or artificial. ‘We’re the Bastards’ is an authentic rock’n’roll experience from start to finish.

There is the anthemic ‘Born to Roam’, the breath-taking ‘Animals’ and the soulful closer ‘Waves’, all excellently done rock songs with a lot of feel and dedication for honest music. A Southern spirit is embedded in the moderate ‘Desert Song’ while it’s the groove that drives ‘Keep Your Jacket On’. And not to forget is ‘Hate Machine’ that offers a next thundering moment on this album.

‘We’re the Bastards’ is the united power of generations, guys, that regardless of age, have rock’n’roll weaved into their DNA. What a pity that live shows aren’t possible at the moment since these songs are made for beer-soaked rock’n’roll parties.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. We’re The Bastards
  2. Son Of A Gun 
  3. Promises Are Poison
  4. Born To Roam 
  5. Animals 
  6. Bite My Tongue
  7. Desert Song
  8. Keep Your Jacket On
  9. Lie To Me 
  10. Riding Straight To Hell
  11. Hate Machine 
  12. Destroyed 
  13. Waves

Label: Nuclear Blast

Genre: Hard Rock

Release Date EU: November 13th, 2020



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal Video

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: