CD review SOULBURN ‘Noa’s D’ark’

Soulburn has roots that go back to the second half of the ’90s and originated from the Dutch metal legend Asphyx. In a period of a first decline for Asphyx, Eric Daniels, Bob Bagchus and Wannes Gubbles took off with Soulburn and released a remarkable debut in 1998.

Soulburn, in its early years, was plagued by line-up changes and on/off situations. Since 2014 the Dutch Metal veterans are present again and submit with ‘Noa’s D’ark’ their third album in six years. What is positively noticeable on their new album is a relatively constant line-up. Eric Daniels is the driving force, supported by Remco Kreft and Twan van Geel, both on board since 2014. Marc Verhaar joined in 2018 and makes his first contribution to a full-length release on this new album. It feels like the guys have very much of a common base and musical vision, listening to the tight sound of the new longplayer. Continuity starts to pay back.

Soulburn don’t leave anything to scorch on their new album and go full-force with ‘The Morgue of Hope’. The melancholic guitar at the beginning is a kind of intro, before the song quickly gains in brilliance. The steamroller slowly starts to get going and after two minutes it really gets up to working temperature.

Having ignited a hellish bonfire with the opener, Soulburn mostly stay in blackened slower-paced settings, but also add with songs like ‘Tempter ov the White Light’ and ‘The Godless I’ faster tracks to their offer.

All in all you can say that Soulburn hasn’t lost anything of its hard-edged sound and diabolic charisma. ‘Noa’s D’ark’ is a very well made metal delivery that primarily impresses with energy and power, but also starts to show depth in the second and third run. ‘Noa’s D’ark’, an album made for the dark season.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. The Morgue of Hope
  2. Noah’s Dark
  3. Tempter ov the White Light
  4. Anarchrist
  5. Shrines of Apathy
  6. Assailed by Cosmic Lightning
  7. Triumphant One
  8. Anointed – Blessed – and Born for Burning
  9. The Godless I
  10. From Archaeon into Oblivion 

Label: Century Media

Genre: Blackened Metal

Release Date EU: November 13th, 2020



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal Video

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: