CD review MOLASSESS ‘Through the Hollow’

One thing right away, Molassess isn’t The Devil’s Blood 2.0 although involved musicians could lead to a different conclusion. Farida Lemouchi, Ron van Herpen and Oeds Beydals have been all part of The Devil’s Blood and searching for comparisons between the bands could be natural thing. However, already the concert at Roadburn 2019 showed the band heading for a different direction, build on the heritage though.

‘Through the Hollow’, Molassess first album, comes with nine songs and and extra long running time of more than an hour. Compared to The Devil’s Blood, Molassess first release contains music that comes with many layers and is less metallic. In a wider sense ‘Throught the Hollow’ is a rock album that features progressive elements, unexpected twists and a strong psychedelic vibe. To stretch the frames even stronger, songs like ‘The Maze of Stagnant Time’ have jazz elements embedded, giving the album an interesting touch.

‘Corpse of Mind’ goes without electrical support, being an acoustic song with an hypnotic expression. Also here jazz influences sparkle, while the repetitive and hypnotizing pattern can be found in ‘Formless Hands’ too.

Again, Molassess isn’t The Devil’s Blood, which makes ‘Through the Hollow’ to an album that will delight as well as it will confuse fans. The musical expertise of the involved musicians is beyond doubt and the way how they apply it is special and the oppostie of mainstream. ‘Through the Hollow’ is dark and melacholic, an atmosphere expressed by music that needs time to blossom in dark grey.

Rating: 7 out of 10.


  1. Through the Hollow
  2. Get Out From Under
  3. Formless Hands
  4. Corpse of Mind
  5. The Maze of Stagnant Time
  6. I Am No Longer
  7. Death Is
  8. Tunnel
  9. The Devil Lives

Label: Season Of Mist

Genre: Dark Psychedelic Rock

Release Date EU: October 16th, 2020



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: