CD review MAD MAX ‘Stormchild Rising’

If a band is already four decades in business the guys must do something right. German melodic rockers Mad Max belong to this group of longtime-experts in their field. Having premiered in 1982 with an album called ‘Heavy Metal’, the band maintained their own sound and became a constant player in the fields of Melodic Hard Rock from Germany.

2020 is the year of Mad Max’s next musical strike, the eleven songs comprising ‘Stormchild Rising’, a title that reminds of the band’s third record ‘Stormchild’.

Mad Max’s fourteenth longplayer clearly shows why Voss and the band could maintain success for such a long time. Although being melodic and catchy, heaviness never went short on a Mad Max album. A prefect example herefor is the rocking ‘Eyes of Love’, a songs that shows enough riffpower and a great groove to shine outside the commercial mishmash. The excellent opener ‘Hurricanes’ hits the ball out of the ballpark too. Voss invited no less than Ronnie Romero to share vocal duties for a song that’s a kind of tribute Rainbow with lyrics, addressing the informational overkill these days. Writing songs about these kind of topics is refreshing too, since it’s much deeper than the usual ‘heart and heart-broken’ theme. 

The catchy ‘Talk to the Moon’ is another well-crafted rocker. Also to mention a song, some kids of the ‘80s might know. ‘Take Her’ is originally from Rough Cutt and it’s Paul Shortino having a guest appearance. Talking about guests, there is one more. Stryper guitarist Oz Fox adds an impressive guitar solo to ’The Blues Ain’t No Stranger’ and it’s so good to hear the roaring guitar of Fox again, since we know about the sickness he’s battling with. Stryper and Mad Max have been on tour have been on tour together in the’80s and the guys maintained contact over all the years, which leads to this fruitful result. Secondly Mad Max leans over to Blues for the first time in their career, at least when it comes to the usage of the term in the title of a song. The soulful track, not a ballad by the way, is a highlight on ‘Stormchild Rising’, an album I can recommend in its entirety. Mad Max stick to their success formula without ending up in predictable repetition.

Not only, but also due to the guests, Mad Max sound fresh and dynamic, all wrapped up in a positive spirit. ‘Stormchild Rising’ is a great way to let daily life behind for a while, enjoying excellently crafted music done by passionate veterans.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Hurricaned
  2. Talk To The Moon 
  3. Eyes Of Love 
  4. Ladies and Gentlemen 
  5. Mindhunter
  6. Rain Rain 
  7. Gemini 
  8. Kingdom Fall 
  9. The Blues Ain’t No Stranger 
  10. Take Her 
  11. Busted 
  12. Ladies And Gentlemen (Single Edit, Bonus Track feat. Detlev Jöcker and the Rock and Roll Children)

Label: Steamhammer

Genre: Melodic Rock / Metal

Release Date EU: August 21st, 2020


AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: