CD review AMPUTATION ‘Slaughter in the Arms of God’

Amputation is a Death Metal band hailing from Norway. It might be the case that many of you aren’t familiar with the band, but Immortal fans certainly know the guys. Prior to Immortal no less than Demonaz has been part of Amputation. The original line-up of the band consisted of the mentioned Harald Nævdal (aka Demonaz) on guitars and vocals, Truls Kvernhusvik (guitars), Padden (bass), and Jørn Inge Tunsberg (drums), with Kvernhusvik leaving the band before work on the second demo started.

As other Scandinavian bands too, also these guys didn’t start with Black Metal right away. Instead it was puristic Death Metal the guys preferred at the time, manifested in two Amputation demo tapes, which also is basically the discography of the band. These tapes weren’t available anymore but thanks to Nuclear War Now! Productions, Amputation stuff becomes available again. The label re-issues the songs from the two demos, plus a bit more on a compilation called ‘Slaughtered in the Arms of God’. What you’re facing after dropping the needle is raw and fierce Death Metal from a time when the heydays of this genre were still to come.

Of most interest are the first six tracks on this release, representing the demos. The sound might not be prefect, but reflects a decent demo quality, considering the time when things have been recorded. The other tracks on this release are from rehearsals in 1989 and are solely stuff for die-hard fans and collectors.

However, listening to the demos tracks makes you think what would have happened if the guys would have stayed with Death Metal. Of course, the careers with bands like Immortal also speaks to itself, but this harsh and uncompromising Death Metal shows quite some potential too. Old school and underground in the best meaning of the word, that’s this release from the North.

Rating: 7 out of 10.


  1. Heavenly Grace
  2. Slaughtered in the Arms of God
  3. Plague of Death
  4. Death is Not the End
  5. Merciless Slaughter
  6. Intense Torture
  7. Amputation
  8. Death is Not the End
  9. Merciless Slaughter
  10. Hunger of Blood
  11. Intense Torture
  12. Plagues of Death

Label: Nuclear War Now! Productions

Genre: Death Metal

Release Date EU: August 31st, 2020

AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: