CD review HIGH SPIRITS ‘Hard to Stop’

The professor of Rock and Metal invites you to a new lecture on 31 July on the subject of traditional Metal in a modern look. But seriously, with ‘Hard to Stop’ Chris Black delivers with High Spirits already his fourth longplayer and the first thing that catches the eye is the very modern artwork.

Like on the previous records, ‘Hard to Stop’ also impresses with an artwork that is certainly not easily associated with traditional Heavy Metal. Even if the album doesn’t have any dragons, swords or similar stuff on the cover, it reflects High Spirits well, a band that doesn’t take the worn out paths.

Musically Chris Black skillfully navigates in familiar musical territory as usual. Crispy riffs, well done melodic lines and a high level recognition characterize songs like ‘Restless’ and the powerful ‘Hearts Will Burn’. ‘Now I Know’ also belongs to the very well crafted Metal hymns. Kept relatively simple, the song unfolds a special magic that is hard to resist. Almost with hypnotic persistence the song grabs the listener’s attention. Partly I felt reminded of Volbeat, only different … and better. This song has a strong Rock’n’Roll and you will simple like what you get to hear. You also should have heard ‘All Night Long’. Well, actually this goes for each of the nine new songs.

‘Hard to Stop’ may be a little short with 35 minutes playing time, but what Chris Black delivers has heart and soul. Heaviness and an ease, all comes together on this album, which will be the prefect soundtrack for a rocking summertime. Get the Metal party started.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Since You’ve Been Gone 
  2. Restless 
  3. Face to Face 
  4. Hearts Will Burn 
  5. Voice in the Wind 
  6. All Night Long 
  7. Midnight Sun 
  8. Now I Know 
  9. We Are Everywhere 

Label: High Roller Records

Genre: Hard Rock / Metal

Release Date EU: July 31st, 2020



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: