DVD review BLUE ÖSTER CULT ‘iHeart Radio Theater N.Y.C. 2012’

Amercian rock pioneers Blue Oyster Cult played a special show at the iHeart Theater in NYC on December 17, 2012. The concert had a very intimate atmosphere as only 200 lucky fans could be present in the small concert hall. But this didn’t affect the mood. On the contrary. This kind of club show has a unique charm, which didn’t get lost on this live recording.

For this concert, Blue Oyster Cult focussed on the earlier achievements with a setlist that does not stretch further into the present than ‘Shooting Shark’ from 1983 ‘The Revölution by Night’. The emphasis was on the early classics of the band. ‘Spectres’ and the successful ‘Agents of Fortune’ provided most of the songs for a show that came to a glorious finale with ‘(Don’t Fear) The Reaper’.

Eight years ago the last sounds of ‘(Don’t Fear) The Reaper’ faded away in the iHeart theater and now fans have the chance to relive the show while all the fans who couldn’t be there have the chance to enjoy the concert at home. Both, audio and video version of this release are a treat for Blue Öyster Cult fans. The recording is very authentic and as the song selection reflects pretty much the best of Blue Öyster Cult, one can easily dive into the world of sound of the late ’70s, early ’80s.

Eric Bloom and bandmates show on ‘iHaert Radio Theater’ why they are one of the most influential bands in rock business. Now it’s time for new songs to see the light of day on a new studio album.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. R U Ready 2 Rock
  2. Golden Age Of Leather
  3. Burnin’ For You
  4. This Ain’t The Summer Of Love
  5. Shooting Shark
  6. Cities On Flame With Rock And Roll
  7. Career Of Evil
  8. The Vigil
  9. Black Blade
  10. Godzilla
  11. (Don’t Fear) The Reaper

Label: Frontiers Music

Genre: Classic Rock

Release Date EU: June 12th, 2020



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: