CD review LIVING GATE ‘Deathlust’

Living Gate – a new band with familiar names. YOB and Oathbreaker members are the basic line-up of Living Gate. More precisely, the band features Lennart Bossu, Levy Seynaeve, Wim Sreppoc and Aaron Rieseberg and all four musicians have manifested their love of death metal in five new songs, which will be released as an EP with the promising name ‘Deathlust’.

Living Gate combine oldschool death metal and a typical underground vibe to a deadly musical mixture that will be appealing to fans of bands like Suffocation and Cannibal Corpse.

Deep growls, massive walls built by pure riffpower and a relentless rhythm section make any foundation of any home shake heavily. With all the basic aggressiveness that is anchored in these five songs, the technical aspect is not forgotten. Living Gate never lose control over what they are doing and how they want to sound. They manage the balancing act between brutality and technical standards, a combination that not every band can call their own.

‘Deathlust’ is certainly an EP, which oldschool death metal fans can have fun with. One can be curious where the journey will take the band to.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. The Delusion of Consciousness
  2. Roped
  3. Deathlust
  4. Heaven Ablaze
  5. Living Gate

Label: Relapse Records

Genre: Death Metal

Release Date EU: June 12th, 2020



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: