CD review FM ‘Synchronized’

FM is the brainchild of vocalist Steve Overland and former Samson members Merv Goldsworthy and Pete Jupp. They started the outfit in 1984 and gained popularity with records like ‘Tough it Out’. Unfortunately for many rock fans, FM’s first era ended in 1995. 12 years later the band returned and has been very present since then.

‘Synchronized’ is FM’s 12th studio album with which they continue their own style consistenly. Melodic rock with a good portion of hardness is what the band stands for, something that is well reflected in the new material.

Songs like the very melodic ‘Superstar’ show FM’s good sense for catchy hooks. ‘Broken’ hits the same groove while ‘Change For the Better’ elegantly rocks. The rhythm based ‘Pray’ shows FM’s passion for blues, followed by the more soulful ‘Walk Through the Fire’. Even though all songs are set in a similar framework, it’s the little things that make each track to a unique piece of music.

All in all we can conclude that FM is releasing with ‘Synchronized’ another good longplayer that is going to make melodic rock fans feel happy. Smooth melodies, a cool groove and catchy hooks are the foundation for an album that is easy to listen to. A summertime soundtrack that comes right in time.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Synchronized
  2. Superstar
  3. Best Of Times
  4. Ghost Of You And I 
  5. Broken
  6. Change For The Better
  7. End of Days
  8. Pray
  9. Walk Through The Fire
  10. Hell Or High Water
  11. Angels Cried
  12. Ready For Me

Label: Frontiers Music

Genre: Melodic Rock

Release Date EU: May 22nd, 2020



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: