CD review DOOL 'Summerland'

The rise of Dool is an impressive one. The band is the brainchild of Ryanne van Dorst, who started the band in 2015. Next to van Dorst the band consists of the former The Devil’s Blood ryhthm-section with Job van de Zaned (b) and Micha Haring on drums. The two guitarists, Nick Polak and Omar Iskandr, complete the line-up that recorded the new album.

A show at legendary Roadburn festival in 2016 was a first appearance of the band, followed by inking a contract with Prophecy Records. With ‘Here Now, There Then’ Dool delivered a fulminant debut including songs like ‘Golden Serpents’ and ‘Oweynagat’ being timeless highlights in Dark Rock.

One of the first club shows have been player in early 2017 in Amsterdam, a starting point for a many more concerts to come, which includes festival appearances at Wacken Open Air, With Full Force, Rock Hard Festival and others.

A year ago Dool released with ‘Love Like Blood’ an EP, bridging the waiting time for the sophomore album. The wait is over on April 10th, the release date of ‘Summerland’.

The second Dool album features in total nine songs with a total running time of nearly an hour. The first two songs on the album, ‘Sulphur & Starlight’ and ‘Wolf Moon’, have been revealed already earlier, acting as a bold statement at the beginning of ‘Summerland’. From the perspective of general patterns, the quintet picks it up where the left off with the debut. What’s obvious though is the evolvement that’s clearly audible.

While the debut was more of an experiment with an open output, ‘Summerland’ is build on a more solid foundation. Dool grew together as a band, leading to a next level of density. The new album takes a while to blossom. The more you spin the record the more details get to forefront with melodies that grow slowly. Dark-, Psychedelic- and Post Rock are the main styles, reflected by the new longplayer, all combined to a unique sound that fascinates.

One could say that the album miss a smasher like ‘Oweynagat’, but this caries no weight since the quality level in general increased with songs like the mentioned ‘Sulphur & Starlights’ and ‘Be Your Sins’ being dark shining pearls that shine over time. And not to forget is the epic closer ‘Dust & Shadow’.

‘Summerland’ is the anticipate bold next step of Dool. It showcases a band that maintain the revolutionary wildness of the debut, adding more layers and twists to their sound. Dool is one of the most exciting bands these days and their second longplayer underlines, why this is the case.

Rating: 9 out of 10.


  1. Sulphur & Starlight
  2. Wolf Man
  3. God Particle
  4. Summerland
  5. A Glass Forest
  6. The Well’s Run Dry
  7. Ode to the Future
  8. Be Your Sins
  9. Dust & Shadow

Label: Prophecy Productions

Genre: Dark Rock

Release Date EU: April 10th, 2020



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: