CD review DEFILED ‘Infinite Regress’

Japan isn‘t that much known for a bigger pool of Death Metal bands. More traditional Metal bands like Loudness and Anthem could get a foot into the door to the European Metal scene during the ‘80s before nowadays bands like Babymetal take over. But since a few years Defiled can be seen as a forerunner when it comes to Japanese Death Metal and the guys do a fantastic and deadly job. 

The quartet focus on their new album on Brutal Death Metal that shows cross-references to genre pioneers like Cannibal Corpse. Aggressive axe attacks, evil growls and a massive rhythm section built the foundation for each of the 12 songs (plus intro and outro). In a merciless way Defiled throws intense and brutal Metal at you and genre fans will like what they get offered.

Each of the songs is pure ammunition for headbanging during these hellish 35 minutes in which the quartet never puts a foot on the break. ‘Divide and conquer’ is the starting point and the Death Metal Samurais don’t take any prisoners right away. Defiled doesn’t even think about taking the pressure off the pedal. With raging speed songs like ‘So Blind’ and ‘Systematic Decomposition’ are sonic scull crushers, rooted in Death Metal and always leaping a bit towards Thrash.

‘Aftermath’ is another song worth to be mentioned. Not only that it’s another deadly strike with full force, it also has a ‘playful’ middle section, being more Thrash- than Death Metal. The same goes for the leads-off riff of ‘Invisible War’ before vocals clarify which genre you’re listening to. An almost funeral-doom-ish beginning characterizes the start of the title track but tempo changes rather quickly since the guys go back to formula of success. However, I wonder how things would have been if the Defiled would have stayed in slo-mo. It feels like it would have been a great song. Maybe on the next album. 

‘Infinite Regress’ is an excellent Death Metal album, oldschool but not outdated. With this remarkable longplayer Defiled clearly state again why they belong to the spearhead of Japanese Death Metal.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Intro
  2. Divide and Conquer
  3. Tragedy
  4. Systematic Decomposition
  5. So Blind
  6. Legacy
  7. Masses in Chaos
  8. Centuries
  9. Aftermath
  10. Invisible War
  11. Ignorant
  12. Slaverobot
  13. Infinite Regress
  14. Outro

Label: Season Of Mist

Genre: Death Metal

Release Date EU: January 24th, 2020



Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑