CD review MIDNIGHT ‚Rebirth by Blasphemy‘

Latest since Slayer‘s ‚Reign in Blood‘ we all know that a great Metal album isn‘t about running time. You can tell the story in 30 minutes and still deliver a full blast.

Why am I telling this? Midnight‘s new longplayer ‚Rebirth By Blasphemy ‘ doesn‘t belong to the epically long records either and still contains a lot of Heavy Metal. ‚Raw Attack‘ is  song on the album and general theme if the album couldn‘t be summed up in a better way than this. It‘s a relentless Metal attack from start to end. There is no time for mercy nor for a moment to take a breath. The second you press the ‚Play‘-button transfers  you into a world of brutal Heavy Metal, merged with a blackened vive and some Punk anarchy (‚The Sounds of Hell‘).

In general the album is about furious and raging Metal with raw tracks like the deadly title track and ‘Devil’s Excrement’. To break the pattern Midnight placed a song like ‚Rising Scum‘ in the middle of the tracklist. Compared to most of the other tracks ‚Rising Scum‘ stays in a rather moderate pace and is equipped with a hypnotic beat. This song is for sure a highlight on the album, also mainly due to the Rock’n’Roll spirit it carries. To not make things too moderate the following ‚Warning From the Reaper‘ immediately shifts gears again and high-speed rules again.

Midnight, the brainchild of Athenar, adds with ‚Rebirth by Blasphemy‘ an evil and fierce masterpiece to his repertoire. This album is like 34 minutes punch right into the face. Horns up.

Rating: 9 out of 10.


  1. Fucking Speed and Darkness
  2. Rebirth by Blasphemy
  3. Escape the Grave
  4. Devil’s Excrement
  5. Rising Scum
  6. Warning of the Reaper
  7. Cursed Possessions
  8. Raw Attack
  9. The Sounds of Hell
  10. You Can Drag Me Through Fire

Label: Metal Blades Records

Genre: Blackened Metal

Release Date EU: January 24th, 2020


Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑