CD review DEWOLFF ‘Tascam Tapes’

One of the first real surprises this year reaches us from Holland. Psychedelic Rock trio DeWolff shows the world that fancy productions and newest recording technique isn‘t needed to record a damn cool album.

‘Tascam Tapes‘ comes without hammond, drums and guitar amps. DeWolff recorded the 12 songs for this album on a Tascam Porta Two recorder and it‘s an extremely cool sound they managed to get out of this minimalistic work method.

The album and its unique sound reveals musical magic right away. Already the first bluesy tones of ‚Northpole Blues‘ are a statement. It‘s a while ago that I heard such a cool sound.

Rock and Blues are certainly the key influences while the funky ‚It Ain‘t Easy‘ brings a light-hearted swing to the forefront. ‚Rain‘ adds the soulful aspect of DeWolff to the mix and while listening to the song, you can almost hear the rain drops falling.

Also the bottom part of the tracklist can keep the great quality level. ‚Nothing Changing‘ and the grooving ‚Love is Such a Waste‘ are pearls in Rock and a treat for your ears. With ‚Life in a Fish Tank‘ the last song comes far too early, but there‘s of course always a chance to return to start, which you should.

‘Tascam Tapes‘ is a statement saying that modern recording technology might create a better sound but it‘s the heart and passion that leads to a warm and gentle swing. Minimalism in prefection.

Rating: 9 out of 10.


  1. Northpole Blues
  2. Blood Meridian I
  3. Ii Ain’t Easy
  4. Rain
  5. Made it to 27
  6. Nothing Changing
  7. Let it Fly
  8. Blood Meridian II
  9. Awesomeness of Love
  10. Love is Such a Waste
  11. Am I Losing My Mind
  12. Life in a Fish Tank

Label: Mascot Label Group

Genre: Rock

Release Date EU: January 10th, 2020



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: