CD review 1349 ‘The Infernal Pathway’

(8/10) Norwegian metallers 1349 return with their already seventh longplayer in a 22 years comprising band history. 1349, that’s Archaon, Frost, Ravn and Seideman, a line-up that’s surprisingly stable since almost two decades. Working as a quartet for such a long time allows operating together in a good fashion with giving full focus to the blackened mood of the album than losing energy in other struggles.

Album number seven is brutal and raw. Being rooted in Black Metal the band challenges some frames of Black Metal. It’s the anarchy of Punk, the hellish Black Metal spirit and the power of Thrash Metal that’s combined and tied togetherd in 13 new songs.

One of the first songs that crawled out of darkness was entitled ‘Dodskamp’. The songs an sonic hellfire. Uptempo sections and grooving part great a thrilling fusion. The song doesn’t stand on its own. Surrounded by some more well-crafted Black metal anthems the Norwegians manage to create some atmospheric Black Metal that still includes edges. Different from some others, like Dimmu Borgir, 1349 doesn’t include any keyboard sound. The density is created by guitar, bass and drum with evil and hoarse vocals giving the album the final touch.

‘The Infernal Pathway’ is a merciless and uncompressing release. The dark beauty of Black Metal is what you can expect, being also what fans are looking for. What amplifies the brutality is ‘Tunnel of Set IX’. The short intermezzo is a calmer sound collage, a break in a storm. ‘Deeper Still’ follows ad rouse you from slumber.

Chaos and darkness rule on ‘The Infernal Pathway’. It is the most mature 1349 release to date, showcasing a band that found a way to evolve their sound without losing contact to the evil roots. The four-piece band from Oslo persevere with fierce and infernal Black Metal that carries enough potential to add new metalheads to their fanbase.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Abyssos Antithesis
  2. Through Eyes of Stone
  3. Tunnel of Set VIII
  4. Enter Cold Void Dreaming
  5. Towers upon Towers
  6. Tunnel of Set IX
  7. Deeper Still  
  8. Striding the Chasm
  9. Dødskamp) (album edit)
  10. Tunnel of Set X 
  11. Stand Tall in Fire

Label: Season Of Mist

Genre: Black Metal

Release Date EU: October 18th, 2019




Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑