CD review MOB RULES ‘Beast Over Europe’

(*/10) When German Metal outfit Mob Rules started the band in 1994 the guys haven’t had a long career in Metal in mind. It was about writing, recording and playing Metal. It might be that it was this approach that led to much more than just an album and a tour. Mob Rules has released nine records and played many tours over the last years.

To round off 25 years in business Mob Rules releases their second live album, recorded during several shows. In total 13 songs and ‘Beast Reborn’ as an intro made it on the tracklist of this live release. The album reflects one quarter of a century in business very well. With ‘Rain Song’ an early classic made it on the album while ‘Ghost of a Chance’ reflects the latest and greatest of Mob Rules.

When it comes to the sound of the album there’s nothing to complain. ‘Beast Over Europe’ got a transparent and powerful sound, maybe even a bit too good. What adds a scattered picture to this live release is combining several live shows to one live album. There is now real flow from start to end and the dynamic of a full-length show is missing.

‘Beast Over Europe’ is a comprehensive summary of 25 years of Mob Rules, an album for fans, collectors and rookies that haven’t heard anything of the German sextet so far.



  1. Beast Reborn (Intro) 
  2. Ghost Of A Chance 
  3. Somerled
  4. Black Rain
  5. Sinister Light
  6. Dykemaster’s Tale
  7. My Kingdom Come
  8. The Last Farewell
  9. Children’s Crusade
  10. On The Edge
  11. In The Land Of Wind And Rain
  12. Hollowed Be Thy Name
  13. Way Back Home
  14. Rain Song

Label: Steamhammer/SPV

Genre: Heavy Metal

Release Date EU: September 13th, 2019



Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑