(8/10) The Offering is a fairly new player in the fields of Metal. The band, hailing from Boston, MA, started in 2015 and consists out of Steve Finn (d), Nishad George (g), Alex Richichi (v) and Spencer Metela (b), the latter joining the band last year.

The Offering has so far an EP in the books, independently released in 2017. Two years later, and after having inked a contract with Century Media, The Offering adds a debut to their discography. Eight songs ended up on the tracklist of this full-length album, a longplayer that’s a wild ride.

The four Bostonians have a passion for Metal and they certainly don’t focus on one or two genres only. Everything from Black Metal to more traditional Power Metal ends up on their record players and therefor it’s not a surprise that also the debut reflects various influences.

‘Waste Away’ is the first song that gets out of your speakers. Modern riffing and a heavily pushing rhythm-section drives this song, being an extremely dynamic start into this musical adventure. ‘Lovesick’ is next. Groove and blistering solo parts are characteristics of this smasher before ‘Ultraviolence’ takes over with a Slipknot-ian expression.

Racing Metal is what ‘Failure (S.O.S.)’ is offering while melodies are more in focus with ‘Hysteria’. ‘Glory’ reflects more of a bombastic approach and it’s the eleven minutes long title track that strings all together. Calmer half-acoustic parts, melodic guitar solos, brutal riff power and a solid groove, all can be found back in this impressive closer.

It’s a bit of a weak point, being fascinating too, that the album includes so many different influences. The Offering is all over the place with their album, which leads to a partly scattered picture. However, this musical wild child carries a lot of potential too and if the guys get their sound more streamlined on the next release, releases by The Offering can become a constant guest on any future release schedules.



  1. Waste Away
  2. Lovesick
  3. Ultraviolence
  4. A Dance With Diana
  5. Failure (S.O.S)
  6. Hysteria
  7. Glory
  8. Home

Label: Century Media

Genre: Modern Heavy Metal

Release Date EU: August 2nd, 2019



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: