CD review TIMO TOLKKI’S AVALON ‘Return to Eden’

(8/10) It took a while until fans of Timo Tolkki’s Avalon can welcome the newest album. ‘The Land of new Hope’ was unveiled in 2013 and already one year later it was ‘Angels of the Apocalypse’ that marked a second step. Part three of the Metal Opera took a bit longer though.

Unfortunately things didn’t went that smoothly with album number three. According to the label information Tolkki had ‘to battle his personal demons during the process’, which caused a longer wait, but the result shows that it was worth it.

Five years after the sophomore release, ‘Return to Eden’ can be picked up at the record stores mid June. To my positive surprise the album sounds fresher and more dynamic than what I expected. Powerful metal tracks fuel this longplayer, songs like the uptempo ‘Limits’ and the bombastic ‘Now and Forever’. The catchy ‘We are the Ones’, with Anneke van Giersbergen on vocals, is another little highlight on the album, a record that doesn’t contain a real weak spot.

Van Giersbergen is one of the guests Tolkki invited for this release. Todd Michael Hall (Riot V), Zak Stevens (ex-Savatage), Eduard Hovinga (ex-Elegy) and Mariangela Demutras (Tristania) contribute with their great voices too, leading songs like the powerful title track the features Hall, Stevens and Demurtas.

‘Return to Eden’ is Timo Tolkki’s return to Metal with his Avalon project. It’s without a doubt a well-crafted Metal album that’s catchy and melodic, but not trivial.



  1. Enlighten
  2. Promises
  3. Return To Eden
  4. Hear My Call
  5. Now And Forever
  6. Miles Away
  7. Limits
  8. We Are The Ones
  9. Godsend
  10. Give Me Hope
  11. Wasted Dreams
  12. Guiding Star

Label: Frontiers Music

Genre: Melodic Metal

Release Date EU: June 13th, 2019



Comments are closed.

Powered by

Up ↑