Review VOMITORY ‘All Heads are Gonna Roll’

Vomitory, hailing from Karlstad, Sweden are forerunners when it comes to Swedish death metal. The band premiered in 1996 with ‘Raped By Their Own Blood’ and unleashed longplayers on a regular base. The band always came up with new material, at least until 2011 when the guys launched ‘Opus Mortis VIII’.

What followed was a hiatus and the announcement of a split in 2013. The quartet got fired up again step by step from 2017 onwards. The show at Summer Breeze Festival 2017 was a starting point for the second era of the band that now unveils with ‘All Heads Are Gonna Roll’ their first album in 12 years.

Coming back with an album after such a long period of absence creates expectations and excitement, all in one.

Vomitory put ten new songs on the tracklist of this album and they basically pick it up where they left off more than a decade ago. The guys didn’t chance a lot when it comes to their success formula as raw and savage death metal is still the essence of their sound.

With ‘Raped, Strangled, Sodomized, Dead’ the band launched a single a few weeks ago, a song that fueled the appetite when it comes to new album.

Vomitory’s ninth album starts with the title track, a lightning death metal track that clearly indicates, what to expect from the upcoming 40 minutes.

Without intro or anything similar the first riffs blast out of the speaker and place you in the middle of a metallic whirlwind. Hereby a high pace is the means of choice, combined with blistering leads. Vomitory doesn’t change a lot throughout the entire album. What you get is oldschool death metal that sounds powerful and opens the gates to hell.

‘Ode to the Meat Saw’ is another song you should check out. A kind of Slayer-esque beginning turns into a massive blast with roaring guitars. Fast and furious, that is ‘Piece by Stinking Piece’ while ‘Dead Man Stalking comes more as a brutal riff inferno.

‘Beg for Death’ is the closing tune on this album and with a five -minute running time the epical track on the album. Starting slow and mighty the song is a sinister way of finishing off an album that is coming with all trademarks of Swedish oldschool death metal.

Vomitory unleash an excellent longplayer with ten songs that are straight to the point. Still there is enough versatility to keep the tension up high which ensures a sinister listening experience. Headbanging guaranteed.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. All Heads Are Gonna Roll      
  2. Decrowned    
  3. Ode to the Meat Saw
  4. The Deepest Tomb     
  5. Piece by Stinking Piece          
  6. Raped, Strangled, Sodomized, Dead
  7. Dead Man Stalking    
  8. Disciples of the Damned       
  9. Dead World   
  10. Beg for Death

Label: Metal Blade

Genre: Death Metal

Release Date EU: May 26th, 2023




AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: