Some of you might know Jason Bieler from his days with Saigon Kick, the band that released with the debut album and the sophomore release ‘The Lizard’ two really cool records. After the band disbanded in 2000 it was 2012 that Saigon Kick returned, but so far without a countable result when it comes to releases.

A different thing is Jason Bieler and his solo albums. The singer and guitarist launched with ‘Songs for the Apocalypse’ his third solo album and two years later, ‘Postcards from the Asylum’ follows. It is the fourth strike of Bieler and features 15 songs, launched again as Jason Bieler and the Baron Von Bielski.

As the predecessor also ‘Postcards from the Asylum’ is a versatile and entertaining longplayer. There is no boring moment while listening to songs like the upbeat opener ‘Bombay’ and atmospheric ‘Deep Blue’. Bieler stays true to his trademark sound which is very much build on his recognizable voice and intonation. At the same time the well-crafted melodies and hooks catch the listeners attention right away and allow to find a way into each of the tracks. Hereby Bieler doesn’t walk on well-worn trails. The mix between heavy sounds and a sweet tempting melody is perfectly executed.

There is the acoustic and calm ‘Mexico’, a moment for dreaming while ‘Sic Riff’ is exactly what the title implies, a heavy pounding metal song. Both tunes mark the poles of Jason Bieler’s musical range. And there is always some darkness that resonates e.g. with songs like ‘Sweet Eliza’.

Bieler also gets support by some guests, adding a part to ‘Postcards from the Asylum’. Marco Minnemann and Ryo Okumoto, to mention just two, enrich the album and songs like ‘Birds of Prey’ and ‘Flying Monkeys’.

To sum up: ‘Postcards from the Asylum’ contains songs, reflecting great craftsmanship. Jason Bieler put again all his trademarks in place and recorded 15 songs, that are a treat for listeners ears. Although being rather catchy, none of the tunes reflects the mainstream. Twists and surprises are what is the extra spice of the album without losing focus on the song itself.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Bombay
  2. Numb
  3. Heathens
  4. Mexico
  5. Birds Of Prey
  6. Flying Monkeys
  7. Sic Riff
  8. The Depths
  9. Beneath The Waves
  10. Sweet Eliza
  11. 9981 Dark
  12. Feels Just Like Love
  13. Bear Sedatives
  14. Deep Blue
  15. Human Head

Label: Baron Von Bielski Records

Genre: Rock

Release Date EU: April 14th, 2023




AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: