Jason Bieler is an important part of Saigon Kick, a rock band that made a big impression in the late 80’s. The debut album as well as the second album ‘The Lizard’ from 1992 belong to the finest of harder played American rock. Unfortunately, the band could not maintain the big success in the long run and sales figures of the following albums were dropping.

Besides Saigon Kick, Bieler also worked on a solo project called ‘Houston, We Have a Problem’ which was released in 1998. Two decades later, the second solo album hits the shelves, released as Jason Bieler and The Baron Von Bielski Orchestra. The album is called ‘Songs for the Apocalypse’, featuring 14 songs and an illustrious cast of guests.

Bieler is the driving force behind Jason Bieler and The Baron Von Bielski Orchestra and is a musician, songwriter and producer in one person. Nevertheless, as mentioned, the iconic musician has brought guests on board. For example, if you’ve always wanted to admire Todd LaTorre’s skills as a drummer, you can do so on ‘Apology’. Furthermore, Devin Townsend contributes with a solo for ‘Bring Out Your Dead’ while ‘Beyond Hope’ lives from the rocking bass of David Ellefson.

‘Songs for the Apocalypse’ is a very well done rock album. Even if it is heavier in some parts, I feel more than once reminded of Saigon Kick. Not that I am misunderstood, Jason Bieler and The Baron Von Bielski Orchestra is unique, but some parallels (‘Alone in the World’) can’t be denied for logical reasons. Always rocking and equipped with beautiful melodies, Bieler’s new solo work is a rest for overstressed ears.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Never Ending Circle
  2. Apology
  3. Bring Out Your Dead
  4. Annalise
  5. Stones Will Fly
  6. Down In A Hole
  7. Anthem For Losers
  8. Horror Wobbles The Hippo
  9. Beyond Hope
  10. Crab Claw Dan
  11. Born Of The Sun
  12. Baby Driver
  13. Alone In The World
  14. Very Fine People
  15. Fkswyso

Label: Frontiers Music

Genre: Rock

Release Date EU: January 22nd, 2021



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: