Review MORK ‘Dypet’

You can’t exactly say that Mork from Norway are one of the quick starters. Founded in 2004 in Halden, Norway it took the band already nine years until they could present their debut album ‘Isebakke’. Before that, there was only a demo called ‘Rota til ondskap’. Not more. The debut was released in 2013 and whoever thought that from now on things would speed up, had their hopes fulfilled only to a limited extent.

Fans of the band had to wait three years for the second album and slowly Mork are gaining speed. Already two years after ‘Katedralen’ the band announces with ‘Dypet’ their now sixth record which also means that not even a pandemic could stop the Norwegian black metal force.

‘Dypet’ contains eight songs of which ‘Bortgang’ has already been released as a single. The song is kept in a quite moderate tempo for most of the time and speeds up a bit in the last third. As you would expect, it’s the bloodcurdling vocals of Thomas Eriksen that send a shiver down your spine. Nevertheless, melodic moments and solos are present, which give the song a pitch-black glow.


Also this time the songs are rather longer. Instead of hammering through a three-minute track, Mork have always integrated atmospheric elements and well-placed breaks, which makes listening a dark and entertaining delight. Tracks like ‘Indre Demoner’ are anything but complex. Nevertheless, there are several twists that make the listener curious.

At the same time Mork create a grim atmosphere which is among other things due to the harsh and shrill vocals. On the other hand, it is partly hypnotically repeating basic themes, which pull the listener into their spell.

Not only musically everything is the same as before with Mork. Also the artwork shows a continuity, as it is David Thiérrée who collaborates with Mork for the third time and manages to visually stage the sound of the band extremely well.

Those who want to resist the upcoming colorful tulip splendor of spring will find in ‘Dypet’ the ideal soundtrack for the extension of a hellish and dark season.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Indre Demoner
  2. Forfort Av Kulden
  3. Svik
  4. Et Kall Fra Dypet
  5. Hoye Murer (Feat HJELVIK)
  6. Bortgang
  7. Avskum
  8. Tilbake Til Opprinnelsen

Label: Peaceville Records

Genre: Black Metal

Release Date EU: March 24th, 2023




AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: